top of page

The Other Side of the Grooming Table


I have a 'bone' to pick with a story on a popular morning show which will remain nameless. The topic was that your dog may be in danger on the groomers table.

I am not invalidating anyones' findings but I must chime in on the other side of the story. The report specified that dogs were hurt in dryers, fell off tables and choked, and that groomers were rough with the animals. I agree that there may be groomers out there that may be sub-par and do questionable things, but..... you will find these individuals in every industry. There are bad carpenters, car mechanics, dentists/doctors, and so on, so I'm sure that there are a number of less than superb groomers.

I must say that most groomers do this job for the love of the animals. I say this because if you've every spent any time in this job you'd know that it is one of the more difficult and demanding jobs, both physically and mentally. I've been peed on, pooped on, thrown up on, and yes, nipped repeatedly. I love animals and would never do harm, if a situation gets too upsetting for a pet then I move to something else, You have to pick you battles, and not with a dog.

Most dogs tolerate grooming but a small percentage actually love it. It's one thing to jump into a mud puddle but a much different thing to be put into a bathtub. Dogs in this situation are usually compliant but it is a natural reaction to have the opposite reaction to a dog, if you know what I mean. Here's an example, I want to trim around a dogs' foot so I hold the foot in my hand, the dogs' reaction is to pull away from my grasp. I'm not pulling, they are. I usually just go with it and show not emotional reaction.

On the subject of a dog falling off of a table, please understand that a good percentage of dogs want off the table because that means the session is over. I've had dogs that I call 'table leapers' because they would gladly leap off the table, no matter what the height, just to complete the flight portion of 'fight or flight'. I've never had one actually complete the mission because I always make sure that they are properly harnessed and I never leave them unattended. I felt the morning show report suggested that the dog falling was the fault of the groomer. I feel that it is the responsibility of the groomer to prevent this but I am sure that no groomer has ever pushed a dog off the table, who benefits from this? A hurt dog, lost customer, bad for business all around.

Can dogs' get cut at the groomers? It doesn't happen very often but the possibility does exist. Imagine when you get your own hair cut. The hairdresser says 'hold still' and you do, for fear of a horrible haircut or the loss of your ear. Now imagine a groomer, who has to trim around ears, eyes, and other sensitive areas, and she/he says to the dog 'hold still'. You do the math, what do you think happens?

All in all, no dog should be hurt intentionally....ever. But...accidents do happen, they should be far and few, and the groomer should always be upfront and honest with the customer.

A final comment is that the report suggested that licensing groomers could solve these issues. I have no issue with licensing and I would happily comply. Do I think licensing will prevent a dog from trying to leap from a table? No, I don't. Instead find a groomer that has the appropriate credentials, experience and temperment that you can trust with your best and beloved pet.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page